BJP Election Manifesto 2024: Ruling party releases ‘Sankalp Patra’; here are the key takeaways

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) manifesto release date, Lok Sabha Elections 2024: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) released its election manifesto, titled ‘Sankalp Patra’, for the upcoming general polls at its headquarters in the national capital on Sunday, April 14. The much-anticipated event had several leaders of the BJP in attendance, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, party president JP Nadda, Home Minister Amit Shah, and Defence Minister Rajnath Singh.

“Our manifesto is a gold standard for not just India but the whole world,” said Rajnath Singh while addressing the event.

The Bharatiya Janata Party received more than 1.5 million suggestions for its manifesto, including more than 400,000 through the mobile app NaMo and more than 1.1 million through videos.

The Lok Sabha polls in India are scheduled to take place from April 19, 2024, to June 1, 2024, to choose the 543 representatives for the 18th Lok Sabha. These elections will be conducted in seven phases. Around 970 million individuals, out of a total population of 1.44 billion, are eligible to take part in the elections.

The main opposition, the Indian National Congress, released its manifesto, called ‘Nyay Patra’, for the 2024 elections earlier this month. Read more on the Congress manifesto

The BJP’s 27-member manifesto committee is chaired by Defence Minister and former BJP chief Rajnath Singh, with Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and Union Minister Piyush Goyal as the convenor and the co-convenor, respectively. Arjun Munda, Bhupender Yadav, Arjun Ram Meghwal, Kiren Rijiju, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Vasundhara Raje, Smriti Irani, Sushil Modi, Keshav Prasad Maurya, Ashwini Vaishnaw, Dharmendra Pradhan, and Bhupender Patel are among the members of the panel.

Here’s the full list: 

Name State Responsibility
Rajnath Singh Uttar Pradesh Chairman
Nirmala Sitharaman Tamil Nadu Convenor
Piyush Goyal Maharashtra Co-convenor
Arjun Munda Jharkhand Member
Bhupender Yadav Rajasthan Member
Arjun Ram Meghwal Rajasthan Member
Kiren Rijiju Arunachal Pradesh Member
Ashwini Vaishnaw Odisha Member
Dharmendra Pradhan Odisha Member
Bhupender Patel Gujarat Member
Himanta Biswa Sarma Assam Member
Vishnu Deo Sal Chhattisgarh Member
Mohan Yadav Madhya Pradesh Member
Shivraj Singh Chouhan Madhya Pradesh Member
Vasundhara Raje Rajasthan Member
Smriti Irani Uttar Pradesh Member
Jual Oram Odisha Member
Ravishankar Prasad Bihar Member
Sushil Modi Bihar Member
Keshav Prasad Maurya Uttar Pradesh Member
Rajeev Chandrashekhar Karnataka Member
Vinod Tawde Maharashtra Member
Radha Mohan Das Agarwal Uttar Pradesh Member
Manjinder Singh Sirsa Delhi Member
OP Dhankar Haryana Member
Anil Antony Kerala Member
Tariq Mansoor Uttar Pradesh Member

Read more on the BJP’s manifesto panel 2024

What is an election manifesto?

An election manifesto is a comprehensive document that aims to communicate a political party’s agenda to voters, providing a roadmap for governance if elected. By detailing promises and commitments, the manifesto offers transparency and accountability. It serves as a contract between the party and the electorate, shaping public perception and influencing voting decisions. All in all, an election manifesto is a cornerstone of democracy, guiding political actions and shaping the future.

Source link


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button